Sun, 05 Jul 2020

NWSL Challenge Cup begins June 27

Field Level Media
02 Jun 2020, 05:40 GMT+10

The National Women's Soccer League Challenge Cup opens June 27 with a clash of two-time champions as the North Carolina Courage face the Portland Thorns.

All nine NWSL teams are competing in the monthlong, 25-game competition in the Salt Lake City area. The league held the draw for the event on Monday.

The Courage are the two-time defending NWSL champs, while the Thorn won titles in 2013 and 2017.

Each team will play four games during a preliminary round from June 27-July 13 to determine seedings. The last-place team will be eliminated, with the other eight advancing to the quarterfinals. The final is scheduled for July 26 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah.

The other NWSL teams are the Chicago Red Stars (Bridgeview, Ill.); Houston Dash; OL Reign (Tacoma, Wash.); Orlando Pride; Sky Blue FC (Harrison, N.J.); Utah Royals FC (Sandy, Utah); and Washington Spirit.

--Field Level Media

More Orlando News

Access More

Sign up for The Orlando News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!